The day I met him (A poem)

Its been a while since I’ve written a poem and when I first started blogging it was basically all poetry all the time.  Of late my blogging has changed. I started to just write whats on my heart and it usually isnt poetry.  Poetry is a good way of ministering to people.  I know a lot of poets that are in the faith who go super hard as poets.  I love poetry I feel like its a craft that I can use to minister to people also but I’ve only done one poem since I’ve been in the faith and I am going to display it here.  What better place to post it, right? lol Well here is it is the debut of my poem on Deja Chosen Daily “When I met him” in its renewed state.

I can’t stop thinking about the day I met him.
You know how you wanna talk to somebody but your mouth won’t let you,
Then your heart jumps out and gets you…because it gets you.
Then your mind starts going this way and that way and you wonder why.
Your tummy is full of butterflies and throat gets all dry.
Then— Wait what’s with the nerves I mean he is just some guy. Right?
Wrong! Cause the thought of him wouldn’t pass on by.
See this wasn’t just some random dude. He didn’t approach me with the typical
“yo can I talk to you” You know, all rude.
And as a matter of fact I spoke first and I thought I was the worst but not at all.
He responded shyly and probably thought I was just some girl.
But truth be told I guess I just wanted a good friend.
See this is a God fearing man and most girls didn’t understand.
They thought his fear of God and Love for Christ was just a front
But I had a feeling it was real and although it was hard for me to trust, I did.
See I wasn’t always Christ like and I came to God only when I was in trouble.
Like that “I need prayer quick, on the double!” kind of trouble.
I was sort of trapped in this bubble thinking God was only good
when he got me out of a tough situation.
 
When He and I became friends my faith increased and
I believed that the closer I was to God the closer I was to Jesus the closer I was to peace.
All my troubles would seize and at least I would have someone to turn to.
But with out the word of God faith is lost.
And you must surrender to him at any cost
cause see his love is so real and so deep that nothing can seep between your relationship.
See he taught me so much and I thank God because without God I would be without him.
And I stand before many today confident in my father in heaven.
I stood before many before I knew who I was in Christ
I could not stand strong alone in my life’s plights.
I know my parents weren’t perfect either
Thats why they fell so Christ could be the redeemer
 
 
I still sin but repentance keeps me clean
and my lord and savior hit the cross because he was keen
On that fact that we would die of our ruthless sin
So God bore his son to save us and now we’re forgiven.
What but God’s unmatchable grace and mercy would save us
Frome the cold wretchen bondage and sins that enslave us.
But most of us take it for granted and granted most of us are blind
and have in our mind that we don’t have to pay God any mind.
So we sit in front of tv and laptop screens watching and doing crazy things.
We say the obscene and see the scene of the sinful and disgusting
and  every single day still talk about God and Jesus with hypocrisy
sliding off of our tongues and then flip the script with scriptures flipped to
to flip the truth make it seem as if we can justify the lie
and try to stand strong in our wrongs when its simply just wrong.
 
So you exchange good faith or should I say lose it for lucifer
who should be your foe and you please him instead of your lord God
and trod with your head down and eyes low afraid to look up and face him
ashamed and full of dismay you may be dismissed on judgment day
when he comes back for this world where you play the devils tricks
and fall for his schemes and he will have you right he wants you; way down deep
in the fiery pits of hell but most of us don’t see that hell is where you will be if you, like eve,
trust the evil but instead of being cursed with pregnancy you’ll see your skin burn and as the
devil churns your soul and turns your role into being his slave instead of a righteous wise slave of God.
And without this man in my life who God has let cross paths with me I wouldn’t pay any of this mind
and in good spirit and in fear of the man upstairs I say I will have earned and won the title of his Ms. Proverbs 31.
 
So thankful and grateful that Christ has changed who I am within
No longer will there be any intentional  corruptible sin .
 

Published by Tisha

Latisha is a believer, wife and mom. She is a new england native, born and raised in the state of Connecticut. She and her husband currently live in Atlanta, GA with their four year old son. Latisha works in the field of education. She has worked with youth since she was 16 years old and has a passion for guiding and mentoring youth; especially at risk minority youth. Please join her as she shares her faith and life journey as wife, mom and creative with the hope of encouraging and motivating other young women to live well.

Leave a comment